Supreme Court appointed 3 judges including KM Joseph, 7 chief justices of HCs

The government late on Friday notified the appointment of Justices Vineet Saran, Indira Banerjee and KM Joseph — chief justices of three high courts — to the Supreme Court, an official of the law ministry said.

The three could take oath over the weekend or early next week, the official added. President RN Kovind signed their warrants of appointment on Friday as well as that of seven chief justices of high courts. Justice Saran who moves from being CJ of Orissa HC will be succeeded by Justice KS Jhaveri of the Rajasthan HC.

VK Kamlesh Tahilramani of the Bombay HC will be the new Madras HC chief justice in place of Justice Banerjee. Justice MK Shah of the Gujarat HC has been named the new Patna High Court chief in place of Justice Rajendra Menon, who moves to head the Delhi HC.

Justice Hrishikesh Roy has been elevated within the Kerala HC to head the court.

Justice Gita Mittal of the Delhi HC will head the Jammu and Kashmir High court while Justice Anirudha Bose of the Calcutta HC will head the Jharkhand HC, the official added.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *