Congress’ Sowmya Reddy won south Bengaluru’s Jayanagar assembly seat, defeating BJP candidate BN Prahlad

Congress candidate Sowmya Reddy won south Bengaluru’s Jayanagar assembly constituency by 2,900 votes, defeating BJP candidate BN Prahlad.

Fifty-five per cent polling was recorded in the Jayangar Assembly constituency on June 11.

The assembly elections were held across the state on May 12, but poll in Jayanagar was countermanded following the death of BJP candidate B N Vijayakumar, who was holding the seat.

Ahead of the polls, Janata Dal(S) had on June 5 pulled out its candidate from the contest and extended the party’s support to its ruling coalition partner, the Congress.

This was the first election after coming to power, where both coalition partners had joined hands.

Both Congress and JD(S) had fielded candidates against each other, despite being coalition partners, in the recent election to the Rajarajeshwari Nagar Assembly seat in the city.

Congress candidate Munirathna had won the seat, relegating the JD(S) candidate to a distant third behind BJP.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: