Politics Uncategorized

Arun Jaitley, Dharmendra Pradhan figure in BJP’s first listi in Rajya Sabha elections 2018

Besides these seven Ministers, the party has renominated its general secretary Bhupender Yadav from Rajasthan.

The name of Union Human Resource Minister Pradesh Javadekar did not figure on the first list. He is expected to make a comeback from his home State of Maharashtra. He is retiring as a member of the Upper House from Madhya Pradesh.

The BJP, on its own, can send back only one of the two retiring members — Mr. Prasad and Mr. Pradhan — from Bihar. It opted to renominate Mr. Prasad from the state and decided to shift Mr. Pradhan to Madhya Pradesh.

The BJP on March 7 released its first list of eight candidates for the biennial elections to the Rajya Sabha to be held on March 23, with Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley being fielded from Uttar Pradesh, after having represented Gujarat in the Upper House for three terms.

Petroleum Minister Dharmendra Pradhan has been shifted to Madhya Pradesh from Bihar.

Union Minister of State for Social Justice and Empowerment Thawarchand Gehlot is being fielded from Bihar.

Health Minister J.P. Nadda has been renominated from Himachal Pradesh and Law Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad from Bihar.

Minister of State for Agriculture Parshottam Rupala and Minister of State for Chemical and Fertilizers Mansukh Bhai Mandaviya have been renominated from Gujarat, where, after the Assembly elections, the number of Rajya Sabha seats the BJP can win has come down from three to two.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *